Principality of Valldemosa


Kingdom of Aragon

The Catalonian conquest of Majorca (1229), and of Ibiza and Formentera (1235) by James I of Aragon, and of Minorca (1287) by Alfonso III, meant the annexation of the Balearic Islands to the western Christian world. Under the Crown of Aragon, the Balearic Islands had their own institutions of self-government. The official languages were Latin and Catalan, which remained official until the victory of Philip V, who by the Nueva Planta (1715) decrees abolished idiomatic uses and the Balearic Islands' own institutions, by introducing the Castilian language by force.
The Kingdom of Aragon was one of the smallest Christian states of Iberian peninsula formed following the expulsion of the Moors, which dominated the peninsula and its inhabitants for about seven centuries.
The counts, and then the kings of Aragon, were descendant from the kings of Navarre.
Thanks to military conquests and marriages between nobles, the territories of the Aragon Crown came to include the lands now called Aragon, Valencia, Catalonia, the Balearic Islands, Roussillon, Perpignan, Provence, Sardinia, Corsica, Sicily, Malta, Athens and Neopatria.
These lands were included later in the country now called Spain, after the extinction of the bloodlines of the Royal House of Aragon, though a younger branch - the House of Ayerbe - had come to settle in Sicily, where its members had extensive possessions, had piled-up countless titles, and had acquired hegemony over the government of the city of Catania.The House of Ayerbe continues to exist today as part of the Royal Family PaternÚ Castello.

Balearic Islands
Kingdom of Aragon
Fons Honorum
Noble Titles
Honorary Titles
Academic Titles
Order of the Crown